Sign up today and take advantage of member-only content — the kind of timely, cutting edge industry insight that only Money Management Executive can deliver.
  • Exclusive Online Only Content
  • Free Daily Email News Alerts
  • Asset Management Blogs

Society of Asset Allocators Names Officers, Directors

The Society of Asset Allocators and Fund Timers Inc. (SAAFTI), a national association of registered investment advisory firms, has elected its officers and directors for 2002-2003. The officer positions are all one-year terms.

Sam Jones, president of J. Group/R.E. Jones & Association and last year's SAAFTI president, was elected chairman of the association. Capital Growth Management President and CEO Stephen Blumenthal was elected president. Ann Miller, founder of A. Miller Investment Advisers, was elected vice president. Paul Schatz, chief investment officer of Beneficial Capital and last year's SAAFTI chairman, was elected Treasurer. And MDP Associates founder Mark Pankin was elected secretary.

SAAFTI also elected six new directors to its board. Three of the directors were elected to replace board members who are leaving in the middle of their terms. Miller is stepping down from the board to become vice president, while Patricia Houtz, president of Jupiter Capital Management, and Tim Chapman, a principal at Personal Mutual Fund Management, resigned.

The three replacement directors are Hays Glover, president of Warwick Capital Management, who will serve through spring 2004, Rene Toth, vice president of fund relations for Flexible Plan Investments, and Steve Landis, founder of Landis Financial & Investment Services. Toth and Landis will both serve through spring 2003.

The three new directors, each of whom will serve full three-year terms, are Donald Linse, founder of Cooper Linse Capital Management, John Lyons, founder of J. Lyons Fund Management, and Peter Mauthe, COO of Spectrum Financial.